Adios Texas

Today I am leaving for trip around the globe. Like a lot of other twenty somethings that travel abroad I decided to take a trip to Europe, but rather than take the hop across the Atlantic, I decided to go take the road less traveled and make a few stops in the East. China is one of the most culturally different places that I could possibly go to. It is also very cheap to travel through there. I will be spending a month in China, mostly in the big east coast cities, but I do plan to venture out into the less populated western areas. After a tour China I head to Thailand for a few weeks to do some leisurely scuba diving, bungee jumping, rock climbing and maybe visit a Buddhist temple or two. There is one in particular that sounds interesting: The Wat Suan Mokkh monastery in Southern Thailand has an introductory 10-day silent medi­tation retreat, which would be a welcome pause from the hectic life Ive been leading here in the states. After Thailand, Ill take a quit flight over to New Dehli, India where I will be riding the trains around the country to see some gorgeous temples and villages. Safety is definitely a concern here, but I think India is one of those places that I must see before I die. I have a feeling that India will change my perspective on things. I really hope so. From India another short flight will take me to Istanbul, Turkey, which begins my backpacking trip through Europe. I don’t really have a set plan as of yet, but would definitely like to make it to Greece, Italy, Spain, France, Ireland, and eventually make it to London where I will fly back to the states. I will be doing this on a very tight budget, and I am hoping that I can be disciplined enough to stick to it.

I cant wait to be on those trains in the middle of nowhere, looking out into those landscapes that span on for unfathomable distances, separated by vast oceans. those immense piles of earth, speckled with the city lights, the jungles, the beaches, the prairies, the marshes, the deltas, the deserts, the rivers, the seas, shanties, the temples, the huts, palaces and the street.

My entire life, I have had the luxury of being able to forget about what is going on in the world beyond. Comfort is a mental prison. My four months in Italy gave me small taste of that experience, but it was not nearly enough to satiate. At this point in my life, for whatever reason, things have come together in this perfect moment and I now have the opportunity to do something that I’ve wanted to do for many years.

Stay tuned for updates and photography, and I’ll see you on the other side.

One response to “Adios Texas

  1. Hi,

    My name is KC Owens, I’m a college student and I love to travel! While cruising the Internet, I found your site and really enjoyed reading your posts. I have been to countries all over Europe with just my backpack and a camera. Since I am a college student and I have significant bills, it can be difficult to find ways to travel the world. However, I have done this several times, with less than ten pounds of luggage and while on a college dime!

    I was hoping that you would allow me to write a post for your site to share my tips and tricks with your readers. I put a lot of time into my traveling, it is my biggest passion and I would love to inspire others by sharing my stories, mistakes and triumphs. I look forward to hearing from you!

    Best,

    KC Owens

Leave a Reply

