nanjing Day 02

The Purple Mountain Observatory.

I had no idea that the lift would take about 30 minutes to reach the top, nor did I know that it was about to start pouring rain and I had forgotten to bring an umbrella.  The rain was subtle at first but became intolerable after a few minutes.  As I reached the top the only soul in sight was the lift  operator and only other thing near me was this statue of laughing Buddha, looking at me right in my face, telling me that I am an idiot.  I waited for the weather to settle for about an hour before deciding to head back down.  The rainfall vacillated between a drizzle and a downpour, but I didn’t not want to waste any more time at top of purple mountain, I had other things I needed to see.  As soon as my feet left the ground on the lift the rain and the wind picked up.

Leave a Reply

