One Week in Shanghai

These are my last days and nights in China. It’s been a great experience and I have learned a lot about myself. I enjoyed most the opportunity to practice photography in an uninhibited way. Progress and self improvement(/simultaneous destruction) make me feel like I am exactly where I am supposed to be. Traveling alone for 5 weeks gave me plenty of quiet time to focus, read, think, sketch, absolutely anything. It’s been great. I have met the most interesting people during my time here.

Meeting new people at the hostels is so great. Everyone is in together on the same big experience, wandering with no real intentions other than to see something new. We all have wanderlust and we are just doing it… on the road making sure that our next experience is totally unpredictable. I don’t know what tomorrow holds, but I have this new feeling in me that I did not have before I left. It’s that feeling that I must have had when I was a child when I really believed that I could be or do anything that I wanted to. Its that American spirit that has inspired countless novels and stories of past generations that talk about the westward expansion to some place new and with exciting prospects. We keep moving beyond what we know to find that new thing, that new experience, that new freedom. I’ve seen it in the people that I’ve met on the road and in myself now. Anything is possible, we can be or do anything we want. I am obviously not going to be an astronaut or a fireman, but I feel like I could live or work anywhere in the world, and be happy experiencing something new, digging a new story from a new person every day.

Travel is like going to church, it is spiritual.

One thing for sure that I have learned is that even though some cultures may be vastly different, people are generally the same wherever you go. In talking to many of the Chinese Ive found that many of them bear similarities to many Western people I know or have known, in terms of personality, attitude, and worldview. People are people, governments and media do not represent who they really are. Don’t believe anything you see on TV or the internet until you see it for yourself. Actually, don’t watch TV at all, turn it off and go somewhere. You don’t know anything. I don’t know anything. There is no right or wrong Weltanschauung, there is just right now and if you are not doing something right now then…

“The way you do anything is the way you do everything.”

So do everything well.

Here are just a few photos from my last week in Shanghai. I am playing with a Sepia-ish tone on this set.

Leave a Reply

